Expectations vs. Reality of a Year Abroad

Sara Khatri.PNG

The thought of a year abroad is normally surrounded by glamour and excitement, with slight apprehension about settling into your surroundings easily. You would rarely think about the potential arduous situations that may arise which can, in turn, cause mental health issues. Therefore, I think a perennial topic to talk about when thinking, reflecting and sharing about one’s year abroad is mental health. It is important for students to be aware of the uncomfortable unknown and, hence, prepare themselves with the necessary tools to manage these emotions that may develop.

I was itching to go on my year abroad to Canada. Indeed, embarking on a year abroad is exciting – studying in a foreign country, taking in the allure and culture of a new land was a calling for me. It did not disappoint – studying abroad is an incredible experience. I made friends for life, roamed around unfamiliar destinations and had the opportunity to undertake unconventional activities that were not easily available in the UK.

However, I felt an underlying pressure to ‘constantly have a good time’ or to ‘have the best year of my life’. In reality though, a year abroad is just another year of your life. With hindsight, I left England with unrealistic expectations based upon my previous travelling experiences and how others perceived exchange programmes – partly through social media platforms.

One unrealistic expectation was to ‘always travel’. In fact, I assumed I would spend a large amount of my time exploring Canada and the province of Ontario; potentially trips every other weekend for the entire year. I did visit numerous places, but to keep on top of your studies whilst travelling can be difficult and stressful (not forgetting the difficulty of travelling during a piercingly cold Canadian winter)! The methods of assessment were far different in Canada than in England. There were weekly assignments, quizzes, mid-terms, projects, essays and final exams. The exchange programme did require more studying than I initially thought; nevertheless, if anything this most definitely taught me to be organised and structure my week meticulously.

You also forget about the prospect of an unexpected event occurring that is completely out of your control. In March, I was involved in a car accident. I was lucky, but coping with the aftermath, away from my family and friends was a really difficult time. I had to make several lifestyle changes to ensure I was on the path to recovery, which naturally tainted the experience of my year abroad. It was a challenging time, both physically and mentally. I was so engrossed in focusing on my treatment, finding coping strategies to deal with the situation and trying to keep on top of my studies.

Albeit, you can never be prepared for a car accident itself, whether it be back home or in a different country. I had no idea what mental health support facilities and resources my exchange university offered to help me cope better with the situation. Before my year abroad, it had not once crossed my mind that moving to another country may affect me emotionally. In reflection, something that I believe could have helped me would have been familiarising myself with how to get in contact with the student wellness services. A myriad of events can happen whilst you are away and being able to talk to someone to deal with such situations when moving abroad is only a good thing.

Overall, when I reflect on my year abroad. I do not think of it as the ‘best time of my life’, rather the best opportunity I have had in my life. It is an overwhelming experience that forces you to embark on a journey of deep personal development. Generally, when people think of a year abroad, they look at it through a filtered lens. Only the happy moments are seen, not the problems experienced and the mental challenges affiliated with this. There will be highs and lows with a year abroad, like at any stage of your life. However, I promise that it will be the most rewarding and fulfilling year of your university career. Looking back, I have no regrets and would not change a single thing.

by Sara Khatri – Queen’s University, Canada


3 thoughts on “Expectations vs. Reality of a Year Abroad

  1. Simply want to say your article is as amazing.

    The clearness in your post is just excellent and i
    can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with
    your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment