A Study Abroad Playlist

We asked our students for recommendations to put together a study abroad playlist and this is the result:

  1. The Passenger – Iggy Pop
  2. Send Me On My Way – Rusted Root because it implies travel, friendship, close bonds, something new happening, but also a hint of nostalgia as everyone recognises it from Matilda.
  3. Lake Shore Drive – Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah – it’s a nice song to travel to!
  4. Despacito – Luis Fonsi is definitely my choice of song since I am going to Spain. A song full of energy and one I am sure I will hear often in Santiago during my year abroad. However, I prefer the one without Justin Bieber, that is, the original.
  5. Wild China Theme – Barnaby Taylor. It’s the theme music to the nature series ‘Wild China’ and it’s that documentary that inspired my desire to visit China. It is by far the best non-Attenborough nature series I’ve seen!
  6. Place I Belong – Michael Kiwanuka. The song goes great with any travel video, and nice and chilled to listen to when travelling. The name is also fairly fitting i suppose too.
  7. T-Shirt Weather – Circa Waves. A girl who had previously been on a year abroad to Australia sent me a video she had made capturing some of her experiences of the year away. The song played in the video was the song I have mentioned above. I feel that it has the ability to remind people of sun and happy memories!
  8. Letter from America – Sunshine on Leith (soundtrack). Originally by the Proclaimers, this version is sung by the movie cast.
  9. Andrew Eldritch Is Moving Back to Leeds – The Mountain Goats since we’re all going to be Andrew Eldritch after our year abroad.
  10. Visiting – Pinegrove. It’s one of my favourite songs, and I’ve already bought tickets to see them in Toronto when I go out to York University for my year abroad in September.

What songs would you add? If you make this playlist yourself, please let us know your thoughts!

If you have a Spotify account, you can check out the playlist one of our Study Abroad Advisers made!:
https://open.spotify.com/user/1134201075/playlist/7hm5W2Akr2UGhtgPX6urFC

Contributions by Joe Broscombe-Adams, Barney Connaughton, Dave Edwards, James Felton, Katharina Furnkranz, Emily Gibbons, Anna Grainger, Mary Joselin, Jacob Laurent and Katrina Moody

Leave a Reply

