My Best Experience So Far…Gold Coast, Australia

Studied at Griffith University, Gold Coast, Australia

My year abroad was spent in Australia, and one of the reasons I chose to go there, was for the incredible diving opportunities the country has to offer. My best experience was definitely when I got to scuba dive for the first time, and snorkel on the Great Barrier Reef.

My first time snorkeling took place in Cairns, on a day trip out to the Great Barrier Reef. What an incredible experience. Seeing giant clams closing as we swam past, being stung by the anemone when coming too close to Nemo fish, and watching a turtle as he sought food from the coral. The sheer beauty of Australia’s underwater world was truly awe inspiring.

My second underwater experience took place on a three day boat tour around the Whit Sunday Islands. The whole tour, both in and out of the water was an amazing experience, as twenty of us from all over the world came together. The great thing about camping out on a boat deck in the middle of the ocean, is there’s no light pollution. We looked up expecting to see stars, and instead found ourselves gazing into the formation of Milky Way itself! During the days we went to three different snorkeling spots, and were surrounded by more fish than we could count. A sea of colour everywhere we looked, as fish of every shape and size joined our group.

I did some incredible things on my year abroad, but the opportunity to see firsthand what an incredible place the ocean is, and to become part of that place, was truly the best experience I had abroad. Before, I couldn’t even imagine the sheer beauty and magnitude of the Great Barrier Reef and it’sinhabitants, and now I don’t have to imagine, I can remember.

golad coast 6gold coast 5Gold coast 2gold coast 4Gold coast 3

By Naomi

Leave a Reply

